Sarita E. Brown, Excelencia in Education

Sarita E. Brown is President of Excelencia in Education, a national not for profit organization working to accelerate Latino success in higher education by linking research, policy, and practice to serve Latino students. She has spent more than two decades at prominent national educational institutions and at the highest levels of government working to implement effective strategies to raise academic achievement and opportunity for low-income and minority students. She started her career at the University of Texas at Austin by building a national model promoting minority success in graduate education.  Coming to the nation’s capitol in 1993 to work for educational associations, Ms. Brown was appointed Executive Director of the White House Initiative for Educational Excellence for Hispanic Americans under President Bill Clinton and U.S. Secretary of Education Richard Riley. Ms. Brown later applied her talents and experience to the not-for-profit sector and in 2004, co-founded Excelencia in Education.

Ms. Brown is active in national educational organizations and currently serves on the Board of Directors for ACT Inc., the National College Access Network (NCAN) the Advisory Group for the Catch the Next and the Board of Visitors for Old Dominion University. An outstanding public speaker, Ms Brown travels throughout the country to advocate for Latino success in higher education.  Her writing on the potential for Latino college-going talent includes her chapter; “Making the Next Generation Our Greatest Resource” in Latinos in the Nation’s Future (2009) edited by Henry Cisneros and published by Arte Público Press.

In 2009, Ms. Brown was honored with the Harold G. McGraw Jr. Prize in Education for her “innovative thinking, strong leadership and accomplishment by example” and received an Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters Degree from North Carolina State University.  She holds a bachelor’s of arts in ethnic studies and a bachelor’s of science and master’s of arts in communication from The University of Texas at Austin.